Supercomputing in Plain English (SiPE) Live Video Conferencing

Posted by GIS talk On Monday, January 07, 2013
Sponsored Links:

This is free! Free!

Registration is now open! Send e-mail to hneeman@ou.edu.

Supercomputing in Plain English (SiPE), Spring 2013
Available live in person and live via videoconferencing

Tuesdays starting Jan 22 2013, 2:00pm Central Time
(4:00pm Atlantic, 3:00pm Eastern, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00noon Pacific)

Live in person: National Weather Center 1313
Live via FREE videoconferencing: details to be announced

http://www.oscer.ou.edu/education/

So far, the SiPE workshops have reached roughly 1000 people at 166 institutions, agencies, companies and organizations in 42 US states and territories and 5 other countries:

* 125 academic institutions;
* 18 government agencies;
* 16 private firms;
* 7 not-for-profit organizations.

SiPE is targeted at an audience of not just computer scientists but especially scientists and engineers, including a mixture of undergraduates, graduate students, faculty and staff.

These workshops focus on fundamental issues of HPC as they relate to Computational and Data-enabled Science & Engineering, including:

* the storage hierarchy;
* instruction-level parallelism;
* high performance compilers;
* shared memory parallelism (e.g., OpenMP);
* distributed parallelism (e.g., MPI);
* HPC application types and parallel paradigms;
* multicore optimization;
* high throughput computing;
* GPGPU computing;
* scientific and I/O libraries;
* scientific visualization.

The key philosophy of the SiPE workshops is that an HPC-based code should be maintainable, extensible and, most especially, portable across platforms, and should be sufficiently flexible that it can adapt to, and adopt, emerging HPC paradigms.


-----------------------------------------------

Sponsored Links:

Visit Other Relevant Posts



Please Subscribe:
We deliver the updates right to your inbox for free! Join the hundreds of others who signed up for the free email subscription.
Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

blog comments powered by Disqus

Friends of GIS Education

Asia Pacific Universities

Europe Universities

Study GIS: Europe

Posted by GIS Talk

Middle East Universities

Study GIS: Middle East

Posted by GIS Talk

The Americas

Study GIS: Americas

Posted by GIS Talk

Follow Us On Twitter and Facebook

GIS on Twitter
GIS on Facebook

GIS Education Visitors