Monday, March 22, 2010

AGU Medals and Awards Nominations 2010

Do you have a student deserving of a Macelwane Medal nomination? Have you been mulling over a nomination for the Bowie Medal but just haven't taken the time to submit it? If your work is in the field of seismology, do you have a person in mind worthy of consideration for the Lehmann Medal?

This is your time as the AGU nomination deadline for the 2010 medals and awards has been extended to 30 April, allowing for additional time for submissions. The medals and awards of AGU are among the most respected in the Earth and space sciences communities.

So consider nominating a mentor, a colleague, or a mentee for an AGU medal specific to their achievement or field of study.

Medals to be Awarded in 2010:

* William Bowie Medal
* James B. Macelwane Medal
* John Adam Fleming Medal
* Walter H. Bucher Medal
* Maurice Ewing Medal
* Robert E. Horton Medal
* Waldo E. Smith Medal
* Charles A. Whitten Medal
* Harry H. Hess Medal
* Roger Revelle Medal

Awards to be Presented in 2010:

* Edward A. Flinn III Award
* Excellence in Geophysical Education Award
* International Award
* Athelstan Spilhaus Award
* Charles S. Falkenberg Award

Journalism Awards to be Presented in 2010:

* Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism — Features
* David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism — News

Nominate here.


Post a Comment