Thursday, February 26, 2009

AGU 2009 Medal nominations

The AGU 2009 medal nomination deadline is 15 March 2009. The medals and awards of AGU are among the most respected in the Earth and space sciences communities. A list of past awardees and full details of how to prepare the nominations package is on the AGU website. Remember, if you do not nominate worthy colleagues they will not be considered.

List of American Geophysical Union (AGU) Medals to be awarded this year:

• William Bowie Medal
• James B. Macelwane Medal
• Maurice Ewing Medal
• John Adam Fleming Medal
• Harry H. Hess Medal
• Robert E. Horton Medal
• Roger Revelle Medal
• Inge Lehmann Medal

Requirements for Medal Nominations

1. a letter of nomination outlining the nominee’s significant contributions,
2. a curriculum vitae,
3. a bibliography, and
4. a minimum of three and a maximum of six supporting letters (at least two individuals are not to be currently or recently associated with the nominee’s institution of graduate education or employment).

For Macelwane Medal nominations the letter must include the birth date of the nominee. The nominee’s age must be less than 36 years of age on 1 January of the year of presentation.


Post a Comment